The Q&A

Címkék: Richard Branson The Guardian The Q&A

2013.02.22. 13:12

Az egyik legjobb brit napilap, a The Guardian mellékletében található a "The Q&A"  (Questions and Answers) című rovat, amelyben ismert emberek válaszolnak meg néhány újságírói kérdést röviden.

A mini-interjúk nyelvgyakorlásnak is kiválóak, mert a tömör, érdekes és időszerű cikkekből sok új szót és kifejezést lehet tanulni.

Eddig 293 interjú készült, melyek közül az egyik kedvencemet választottam ki, a Richard Bransonnal készült beszélgetést, melynek válaszait itt találod a kérdésekkel együtt:

Richard-Branson.jpgRichard Branson, 59, was born in London. He left school at 16, and in 1970 he founded Virgin, a mail-order record retailer, and two years later opening his first record shop and built a recording studio. In 1977, he signed the Sex Pistols and Virgin Music went on to become one of the world's top record companies. The Virgin Group has since expanded into leisure, travel, media, finance and health. He is married with two children and lives in London.

 

When were you happiest?
The births of my kids and my wedding spring to mind.

What is your greatest fear?
To stop enjoying life.

What is your earliest memory?
When I was four, my mother insisted I get out of the car and find my own way home. Although got lost, I did find my way home. It taught me the value of independence at an early age.

What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
My bad memory.

What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Racism.

What was your most embarrassing moment?
Jumping off the Palms hotel in Vegas – it didn't exactly go to plan and I also ripped my pants.

Property aside, what's the most expensive thing you've bought?
A Bentley back in 1973.

What would your super power be?
To be able to save our planet.

Who would play you in the film of your life?
Brad Pitt. He's handsome, sports a good beard and is a great actor.

What does love feel like?
I like my recently married nephew Ned's take on love – he says it's like swimming in a pool of love goo.

What is your most unappealing habit?
I love to dance, but my children tell me I shouldn't. Can't see why.

What is your favourite book?
Tim Flannery's The Weather Makers.

What is the worst thing anyone's said to you?
There have been plenty of things I care not to remember.

What do you owe your parents?
Everything.

What was the best kiss of your life?
A gentleman should never kiss and tell.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
"Yes." My colleagues know me as Dr Yes because I find it hard to say no to new ideas and proposals.

What is the worst job you've done?
My early business ventures included growing Christmas trees and breeding birds.

What has been your biggest disappointment?
Northern Rock, and not winning the bid to take on the lottery.

If you could edit your past, what would you change?
I wouldn't change a thing.

How do you relax?
Lying in my hammock, looking out at the ocean.

What is the closest you've come to death?
Crossing the Atlantic with the Virgin Atlantic Challenger – the boat capsized and I had to be rescued by an RAF helicopter.

What do you consider your greatest achievement?
Holly and Sam Branson.

How would you like to be remembered?
As someone who made a difference.

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?
To treat others as you would wish to be treated.

Source: http://www.guardian.co.uk/lifeandstyle/2010/apr/03/richard-branson-interview

Egészítsd ki a mondatokat a pirossal jelölt szavak egyikével:

1. You get such a sense of ___________________ when you finish the course.

2. We deeply ____________________ the loss of life.

3. I was told that I tend to __________________ the word „anyway”.

4. The company was ________________ in 1861.

5. He turned up __________________ a bright red baseball cap and sunglasses.

6. She ____________________ her dress getting off her bike.

Answers: 1. achievement; 2. deplore; 3. overuse; 4. founded; 5. sporting; 6. ripped

Vocabulary

to found [faʊnd] = alapítani, létrehozni

to expand [ɪkspænd]= terjeszkedni

to spring to mind = eszébe jut, felötlik

to get lost = eltévedni

to find my way home = hazatalálni

trait [treɪt]=jellegzetesség, jellemző vonás

deplore [dɪplɔːr]= sajnál, helytelenít

embarrassing [ɪmbærəsɪŋ] = kínos, zavarba ejtő

to rip = elszakadni

pants = nadrág

property [prɔpətiː] = ingatlan

aside [əsaɪd] = valamit félretéve

to sport = viselni, hordani

unappealing [ʌnəpiːlɪŋ]= ellenszenves

overuse = agyonhasznált, túlzottan használt

business venture [ventʃər]= üzleti vállalkozás

breeding birds [briːdɪŋ]= madártenyésztés

hammock [hæmək]= függőágy

capsize [kæpsaɪz] = felborul

achievement [ətʃiːvmənt]= teljesítmény, vívmány 

A bejegyzés trackback címe:

https://angora.blog.hu/api/trackback/id/tr725098221

Kommentek:

A hozzászólások a vonatkozó jogszabályok  értelmében felhasználói tartalomnak minősülnek, értük a szolgáltatás technikai  üzemeltetője semmilyen felelősséget nem vállal, azokat nem ellenőrzi. Kifogás esetén forduljon a blog szerkesztőjéhez. Részletek a  Felhasználási feltételekben és az adatvédelmi tájékoztatóban.

Nincsenek hozzászólások.
süti beállítások módosítása